Seeking Nominations for the Arrowhead Arts Awards

Who would you nominate for the awards below? I’m interested in seeing new names, new faces in the arts that we might not consider! Post some suggestions in the box below, and consider nominating them!

Seeking Nominations for The Arrowhead Arts Awards

The Arrowhead Regional Arts Council is seeking nominations of individual artists and arts advocates who have had an impact on the Arrowhead region. The annual Arrowhead Arts Awards were developed in 1998 to recognize individuals who have made important contributions to the arts in the Arrowhead region. Each year the ARAC presents two awards to deserving individuals in the region.

The annual Arrowhead Arts Awards were developed to recognize the work and contributions of individual artists, arts administrators and arts advocates in the Arrowhead region. Robert DeArmond, Executive Director of the Arrowhead Regional Arts Council explains that “although these artists and administrators may have been working in our region for some time, their accomplishments often are not widely known or appreciated. By recognizing these individuals, the awards will raise the profile of the arts in their communities and validate the importance of the arts throughout the Arrowhead region.”

The George Morrison Artist Award recognizes an individual artist whose body of work has made a significant contribution to the arts over an extended period of time. The selected artist receives a certificate and a $2,000 award. Past recipients of the George Morrison Artist Award include: George Morrison, Native American visual artist, Grand Portage, for whom the award is named, William Bastian, operatic tenor, Duluth, Louis Jenkins, prose poet, Duluth, Gladys Koski Holmes, visual artist, Angora, Ellen Olson, Native American bead artist, Grand Portage, Allen Fields, dancer, choreographer and Artistic Director of the Minnesota Ballet, Duluth, Barton Sutter, poet and essayist, Duluth, Carl Gawboy, Native American visual artist, Duluth, Cecilia Lieder, printmaker, Duluth, Jim Brandenburg, photographer, Ely, Connie Wanek, poet, Duluth, Mary Casanova, young adult author, Ranier, MN, Cheng-Khee Chee, watercolor artist, Duluth, and Jim Northrup, Native American journalist and essayist, Fond du Lac Reservation.

The Maddie Simons Advocate Award recognizes an arts administrator, arts educator, volunteer for a non-profit arts organization, or artist whose involvement in a project or programs has substantially contributed to the arts in the Arrowhead region. This award honors an individual for their work on a single project or for long time involvement with arts organizations in the Arrowhead region. The selected individual receives a certificate and a $1,000 award. Past recipients of the Maddie Simons Advocate Award include: Jay Andersen, the former Executive Director of Grand Marais Arts, Inc., John Steffl, the former Artistic Director of the Duluth Art Institute, Michael Ricci, former Artistic and Managing Director of Theater at Hibbing Community College, Dorian Beaulieu, art instructor at Lake Superior College, Duluth, Betty Brown, arts advocate, artist, and teacher, Carlton, David Marty, Executive Director of the Reif Art Center in Grand Rapids, Eileen Keen, artist and arts advocate, McGregor, Marek Fuller, founder of the Two Harbors Folk Festival, Paul Deaner, founder of the Lake Superior Community Theater, Finland, Betsy Bowen, artist and arts advocate, Grand Marais, Patricia Feld, artist and arts advocate, Effie, Cheryl Kramer-Milder, arts advocate, community theater activist, actor, director and founding member of County Seat Theater, Cloquet, Char Luoma, artist and arts advocate, Britt, and Jerry and Cherie Holm, stewards and energizers of the Jacques Art Center, Aitkin.

The ARAC is seeking nominations of individuals who have resided in the Arrowhead region for at least one year whose art work or whose involvement in the arts has been important to the Arrowhead region. An individual may receive an award only once.

George Morrison Award nomination form

Maddie Simons Award nomination form

Nominations may be submitted by letter or email. An eligible nomination must include a cover letter, a completed nomination form, a copy of the nominee’s resume, and documentation of the nominee’s art work and/or involvement in the arts. Up to three letters of support may be included with the nomination. Self nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations for the Arrowhead Arts Awards must be postmarked by November 16, 2012 Nomination forms are also available from the Arrowhead Regional Arts Council office, by calling 218-722-0952 or 800-569-8134, or emailing [email protected]



about 12 years ago

Jason Wussow = Maddie Simons Advocate Award


about 12 years ago

You know who should really win the Maddie Simons? Bob DeArmond. Really, who has done more for artists in the region? I suppose he's not eligible.

greg cougar conley

about 12 years ago

How do I go about nominating myself? I've been arting like a mofo in the Arrowhead region for quite some time!

Leave a Comment

Only registered members can post a comment , Login / Register Here

Read previous post:
Lake Superior Honey Co. Kickstarter On the heels of a Duluth City Council vote to broaden legal beekeeping within the city, Jonathan and Erin...