Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards 2023 Call for Nominations

Lake Superior Writers is seeking nominations for the 2023 Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards.

The categories have changed and are as follows: Nonfiction; Fiction; Children’s Literature; Middle Grade/Young Adult; Poetry; and Memoir. Art/Photography is now part of the Nonfiction category. A $40 entry fee is required for each nominated title.

The awards recognize books that substantially represent the history, culture, heritage or lifestyle of northeastern Minnesota, which includes the following counties: Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Pine and St. Louis. Authors are not required to live in northeastern Minnesota in order to have their work considered.

To be eligible, books must have been published in 2022. The winning book in each category will receive a cash prize of $200. The winning book and the honorable mention in each category will receive a glass plaque and 100 book seals.

The nomination process has been streamlined this year to include a digital application form and an online payment procedure. For complete instructions, including eligibility and entry requirements visit

Entry deadline is May 31; winners and honorable mentions will be announced in mid October.

Questions? Email anemba @

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Only registered members can post a comment , Login / Register Here

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Read previous post:
Duluth Incline Magic Lantern Glass Slides from 1893

Images here of the Duluth Incline Railway are from three lantern slides, also known as "magic lanterns." According to the...