Kathy McTavish named an inaugural Jerome Hill artist fellow

The Jerome Foundation has announced the first recipients of the new Jerome Hill Artist Fellowships program. Duluth-based artist Kathy McTavish was among the artists chosen from 1,172 applications.

Sixty fellowships were awarded — 10 each in the disciplines of dance, film/new media, literature, music, theater/performance/spoken word, and visual arts — to early-career artists based in Minnesota and New York City. Each fellow will receive $40,000 over two years ($20,000 per year) in direct support to advance artistic or professional development and/or to create new work.

In their deliberations, panels considered samples of past works submitted by panelists; the applicant’s artistic goals, ambitions, motives and self-assessments of their own work; the proposed focus of the Fellowship period; and the ways in which applicants had learned from past interactions with audiences or the larger public. Applicants were also assessed in their fit with the foundation’s core values of innovation, diversity and humility, defined by the Foundation as service to a larger aesthetic tradition and/or social community.

The 2019-2020 Jerome Hill Artist Fellows are listed by discipline as follows:

Marjani Forté-Saunders (New York)
Jasmine Hearn (New York)
Raja Feather Kelly (New York)
Pedro Pablo Lander (Minnesota)
Dustin Maxwell (New York)
Leslie Parker (Minnesota)
Ashwini Ramaswamy (Minnesota)
Deneane Richburg (Minnesota)
Darrius Strong (Minnesota)
Andre Zachary (New York)

Film/New Media
Shirley Bruno (New York)
Jason Coyle & Laska Jimsen (Minnesota)
Kerri Edge (New York)
Carrie Hawks (New York)
Adam Khalil & Zack Khalil (New York)
Naomi Ko (Minnesota)
Simon Liu (New York)
Kate Marks (New York)
Kathy McTavish (Minnesota)
Richard Wiebe (Minnesota)

D. Allen (Minnesota)
Chia-Lun Chang (New York)
Pallavi Dixit (Minnesota)
t’ai freedom ford (New York)
Marwa Helal (New York)
Su Hwang (Minnesota)
Jennifer Kwon Dobbs (Minnesota)
Patricia Park (New York)
Preeti Rajpal (Minnesota)
Alejandro Varela (New York)

Caroline Davis (New York)
Rafael Gonzalez (Minnesota)
DeVon Gray (Minnesota)
Jessica Jones (New York)
Tony Jones (New York)
Migiwa Miyajima (New York)
Alicia Hall Moran (New York)
Walken Schweigert (Minnesota)
Dameun Strange (Minnesota)
Mazz Swift (New York)

Theater, Performance & Spoken Word
Janani Balasubramanian (New York)
Caridad De La Luz (New York)
Antonio Duke (Minnesota)
Megan Flød Johnson (Minnesota)
Kathryn Haddad (Minnesota)
Joe Horton (Minnesota)
Khary Jackson (Minnesota)
Kareem Lucas (New York)
Ikechukwu Ufomadu (New York)
Nia Witherspoon (New York)

Visual Arts
Manal Abu-Shaheen (New York)
Rachel Breen (Minnesota)
Jes Fan (New York)
LaMont Hamilton (New York)
Jonathan Herrera Soto (Minnesota)
Hasabie Kidanu (New York)
Sieng Lee (Minnesota)
Glendalys Medina (New York)
Ronny Quevedo (New York)
Dyani White Hawk (Minnesota)

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Only registered members can post a comment , Login / Register Here

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Read previous post:
Doughboys on Duluth: “Campaign in the Ass”

https://radiopublic.com/doughboys-G3wgwY/ep/s1!66f19 Doughboys, the podcast about chain restaurants, mentions Duluth in episode 77, "Cold Stone Creamery with Kevin T. Porter," released...