One Book Northland 2023: The Wolf’s Trail

The Wolf’s Trail: An Ojibwe Story, Told by Wolves is the One Book Northland community read title for 2023. Written by Thomas D. Peacock and published by Duluth-based Holy Cow! Press, it’s about Ojibwe teaching and the truths of Ojibwe existence as seen through the words of a wolf elder as he “talks story” to wolf pups.

Peacock is a member of the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior (Anishinaabe Ojibwe).

The book is the 22nd title chosen for the annual One Book Northland project, which is designed to bring Duluth-area communities together to celebrate reading by encouraging as many people as possible to read the same book. The author makes appearances to talk about the book at events throughout the year.

The One Book Northland project began in 2002 under the name One Book, One Community and changed its name in 2016. The committee includes representatives from the community, Duluth Public Library, Cloquet Public Library, Superior Public Library, Two Harbors Public Library, University of Minnesota Duluth, the College of St. Scholastica, Barnes & Noble, the Bookstore at Fitger’s and Zenith Bookstore.

Previous Selections
2022 – Gichigami Hearts: Stories and Histories from Misaabekong by Linda LeGarde Grover
2021 – The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
2020 – Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
2019 – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
2018 – The Wind and the Drum by Katharine Johnson
2017 – Locally Laid: How We Built a Plucky, Industry-changing Egg Farm – From Scratch by Lucie Amundsen
2016 – The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown
2015 – The Dance Boots by Linda LeGarde Grover
2014 – The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
2013 – Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland
2012 – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
2011 – Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
2010 – Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
2009 – Population: 485 by Michael Perry
2008 – Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin
2007 – The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
2006 – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
2005 – Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
2004 – Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
2003 – Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom
2002 – To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Only registered members can post a comment , Login / Register Here

Read previous post:
Local author counts down the days to book launch

Hi. I am an author from Duluth. I wrote two books that take place in Duluth. The second is coming...